The members of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences are the organization's greatest asset, an assemblage of the finest artists and craftspersons of the art form.

On this page the Academy pays homage to those members who have passed away this year. Academy Awards and nominations are noted (a win is indicated by an asterisk) as well as service on the Academy's Board of Governors. To see the full gallery from the 2021 Oscars click here.


Brad Allan – Members-at-Large

Michael Apted – Documentary Branch
Board of Governors, August 2002-July 2009, July 2011-July 2014

Edward Asner – Actors Branch
Board of Governors, June 1976-June 1983

Martin R. Bauer -- Associates

Walter Bernstein – Writers Branch
1976 (49th) Writing (Screenplay written directly for the screen) – “The Front”

Perry Botkin, Jr. – Music Branch
1971 (44th) Music (Song--original for the picture) – “Bless the Beasts and Children”

Allan Burns – Writers Branch
1979 (52nd) Writing (Screenplay based on material from another medium) – “A Little Romance”

Jean-Claude Carrière – Writers Branch
1962 (35th) *Short Subject (Live Action) – “Heureux Anniversaire (Happy Anniversary)”
1972 (45th) Writing (Story and Screenplay based on factual material or material not previously published or produced) – “The Discreet Charm of the Bourgeoisie”
1977 (50th) Writing (Screenplay based on material from another medium) – “That Obscure Object of Desire”
1988 (61st) Writing (Screenplay based on material from another medium) – “The Unbearable Lightness of Being”
2014 (87th) *Honorary Award

Michael Constantine – Actors Branch

Alex Cord – Actors Branch

Jack Couffer – Cinematographers Branch
1973 (46th) Cinematography – “Jonathan Livingston Seagull”

Kellam de Forest – Production Design Branch

Richard D. Donner – Directors Branch

Olympia Dukakis – Actors Branch
1987 (60th) *Actress in a Supporting Role – “Moonstruck”

John Erman – Directors Branch

Graeme Ferguson – Documentary Branch

Robin French – Members-at-Large

Lester H. Fresholtz – Sound Branch
1969 (42nd) Sound – “Marooned”
1973 (46th) Sound – “Paper Moon”
1975 (48th) Sound – “Bite the Bullet”
1976 (49th) *Sound – “All the President's Men”
1979 (52nd) Sound – “The Electric Horseman”
1980 (53rd) Sound – “Altered States”
1982 (55th) Sound – “Tootsie”
1985 (58th) Sound – “Ladyhawke”
1986 (59th) Sound – “Heartbreak Ridge”
1987 (60th) Sound – “Lethal Weapon”
1988 (61st) *Sound – “Bird”
1992 (65th) Sound – “Unforgiven”

Charles Fries – Executives Branch

John Gabriel – Actors Branch

Leon Gast – Documentary Branch
1996 (69th) *Documentary (Feature) – “When We Were Kings”

Larry Gelman – Actors Branch

Arlene Golonka – Actors Branch

Alberto Grimaldi – Producers Branch
2002 (75th) Best Picture – “Gangs of New York”

Charles Grodin – Actors Branch

Lee Curtis Harman – Makeup Artists and Hairstylists Branch

Jerome Hellman – Producers Branch
1969 (42nd) *Best Picture – “Midnight Cowboy”
1978 (51st) Best Picture – “Coming Home”

Monte Hellman – Directors Branch

Chuck Hicks – Actors Branch

Hal Holbrook – Actors Branch
2007 (80th) Actor in a Supporting Role – “Into the Wild”

John Hora – Cinematographers Branch

Robert C. Jones – Writers Branch
1963 (36th) Film Editing – “It's a Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad World”
1967 (40th) Film Editing – “Guess Who's Coming to Dinner”
1976 (49th) Film Editing – “Bound for Glory”
1978 (51st) *Writing (Screenplay written directly for the screen) – “Coming Home”

Bruce Kirby – Actors Branch

Louis Lazzara – Makeup Artists and Hairstylists Branch

Cloris Leachman – Actors Branch
1971 (44th) *Actress in a Supporting Role – “The Last Picture Show”

Norman Lloyd – Actors Branch

Helen McCrory – Actors Branch

Gavin MacLeod – Actors Branch

Larry McMurtry – Writers Branch
1972 (44th) Writing (Screenplay based on material from another medium) – “The Last Picture Show”
2005 (78th) *Writing (Adapted Screenplay) – “Brokeback Mountain”

Isidore Mankofsky – Cinematographers Branch

Wolfgang E. Marum – Associates

Art Metrano – Actors Branch

Alan Robert Murray – Sound Branch
1985 (58th) Sound Effects Editing – “Ladyhawke”
1989 (62nd) Sound Effects Editing – “Lethal Weapon 2”
1996 (69th) Sound Effects Editing – “Eraser”
2000 (73rd) Sound Editing – “Space Cowboys”
2006 (79th) Sound Editing – “Flags of Our Fathers”
2006 (79th) *Sound Editing – “Letters from Iwo Jima”
2014 (87th) *Sound Editing – “American Sniper"
2015 (88th) Sound Editing – “Sicario”
2016 (89th) Sound Editing – “Sully”
2019 (92nd) Sound Editing – “Joker”

Roy Naisbitt – Short Films and Feature Animation Branch

Marcia Nasatir – Executives Branch

Donald B. Nunley – Associates

Christopher Plummer – Actors Branch
2009 (82nd) Actor in a Supporting Role – “The Last Station”
2011 (84th) *Actor in a Supporting Role – “Beginners”
2017 (90th) Actor in a Supporting Role – “All the Money in the World”

Anthony Powell – Costumes Designers Branch
1972 (45th) *Costume Design – “Travels with My Aunt”
1978 (51st) *Costume Design – “Death on the Nile”
1980 (53rd) *Costume Design – “Tess”
1986 (59th) Costume Design – “Pirates”
1991 (64th) Costume Design – “Hook”
2000 (73rd) Costume Design – “102 Dalmatians”

Jane Powell – Actors Branch

Peter Mark Richman – Actors Branch

Ronald Roose – Film Editors Branch

Richard Rush – Directors Branch
1980 (53rd) Directing – “The Stunt Man”
1980 (53rd) Writing (Screenplay based on material from another medium) – “The Stunt Man”

George Segal – Actors Branch
1966 (39th) Actor in a Supporting Role – “Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?”

Robert A. Sidell – Makeup Artists and Hairstylists Branch

Lynn A. Stalmaster – Casting Directors Branch
2016 (89th) *Honorary Award

Aaron Stern – Associates

Mark Tarlov – Producers Branch

Bertrand Tavernier – Directors Branch

Bill Taylor – Visual Effects Branch
Board of Governors, August 1995-July 2005, July 2006-July 2012, July 2014-July 2017
1981 (54th) Scientific or Technical Award (Technical Achievement Award)
2012 (85th) John A. Bonner Medal of Commendation

Stacy Title – Short Films and Feature Animation Branch
1993 (66th) Short Film (Live Action) – “Down on the Waterfront”

Cicely Tyson – Actors Branch
1972 (45th) Actress – “Sounder”
2018 (91st) *Honorary Award

Buddy Van Horn – Members-at-Large

Chick Vennera – Actors Branch

Jessica Walter – Actors Branch

Michael K. Williams – Actors Branch

Jane Withers – Actors Branch

Jerry Ziesmer – Members-at-Large